Since MP Alarms was first set up in 1976, we have worked hard to be awarded the accreditations here and to ensure that everything we do is done to the standards required for each of the services we offer.

To ensure that this is upheld, we have had to work closely with our customers and our accreditation inspectors so that the best security and privacy is given to all of our customers, contractors, suppliers and staff.

For us to be accredited in these areas we are inspected yearly by each of these standards and are constantly improving them so we can give the best service and goods available.  However this is not the only thing this gives our customers and we run our business like a family so it keeps you welcome and informed at all stages of a project with us.

NSI NACOSS UKAS Fire & Intruder 



NSI NACOSS Certification

NSI’s mission is to raise standards in the security and fire industries in the interests of the customer. NSI believes that every customer, whether a large commercial organisation or an individual householder, is entitled to receive a professional service from security and fire companies.

The threat to every customer is the long-term undermining of standards by poor performers. It is NSI’s motivation to separate the strong from the weak.

NSI approved companies must prove their competence on an on-going basis. They may not always be the cheapest, but they are invariably the best.

If a company has not been approved by NSI, challenge its credentials.

All NSI approved companies:

  • meet the highest business performance standards.
  • meet all relevant British and European Standards for technical performance.
  • security screen all relevant staff (security companies).
  • provide a high level of staff training and supervision to industry best practice standards.
  • are comprehensively insured to protect customers and staff.
  • are inspected every six months by professional auditors including random site visits.

NSI Gold companies also:

  • meet the industry specific ISO 9001:2008 Quality Management System Standard.
  • demonstrate a long term track record of performance and evidence of reliability and stability.

NSI Fire Gold 



BAFE Logo 

SP-203 – Part 1
Modular Scheme


NSI Fire & BAFE Certification

This BAFE scheme has been developed for the Third Party Certification of those organisations involved in fire detection and fire alarm systems. The scheme recognises the importance of providing compliant systems while at the same time minimising false alarms.

BAFE’s scheme objective is to provide a means by which fire protection system users and regulatory authorities can be confident that the companies providing fire alarm systems, have processes in place to effectively undertake such activities within their defined scope of work. The scheme document specifiesconditions to be met by certificated organisations, including the requirement that where a company has additional operational offices, each office must meet the standards of SP203-1 to be eligible for certification and is separately listed.

The modular scheme was written and developed by stakeholders from all quarters of the industry, chaired by an international fire risk professional and was officially launched in July 2002. The scheme is delivered on BAFE’s behalf by licensed UKAS accredited Certification Bodies.

In recognition of industry practice and demand, the scheme has been split into four modules, the intention of this is to ensure that a company only gains BAFE registration for the modules in which they are competent to work. The four modules are:- System Design, Installation, Commissioning and Handover / Maintenance.

Like other BAFE schemes a certificate is the basis upon which confidence is built.

smas Worksafe Contractor.

SMAS Worksafe Certification

SMAS is a proud member of the Safety Schemes in Procurement (SSIP) Forum.

Since the launch of SSIP, many Clients and Principal Contractors now adopt an SSIP approach to H&S pre-qualification and will only use contractors who hold a valid and in date Scheme certificate issued by an SSIP Forum member.

Holding a valid SSIP Member Scheme certificate means that a contractor will have demonstrated their Stage 1 H&S competence by meeting the SSIP  ‘core criteria’ which is in line with the H&S module in PAS91.

A key aim of the SSIP Forum is to reduce the burden and cost of H&S bureaucracy across the construction industry and as part of this, your Worksafe certificate will be recognised by the other SSIP members who offer mutual recognition – meaning that you should not have to complete a further full H&S assessment.

Safety Schemes In Procurement

In April 2007, an initial meeting was held at the Health & Safety Executive’s Headquarters, which included representatives from the Contractors’ Health and Safety Assessment Scheme (CHAS), ConstructionlineExor and the National House-Building Council (NHBC) to discuss the potential for the SSIP Forum.

SSIP assessments are all judged on core criteria approved by HSE.  These core criteria describe what it means for a construction business to comply with basic health and safety law.  The Core Criteria were published by HSE in Appendix 4 of the CDM 2007 Approved Code of Practice.  With the new CDM 2015 Regulations, there is no immediate publication of an Approved Code of Practice, and the SSIP Forum have agreed to adopt the Core Criteria to become part of the SSIP Terms of Reference.